Home

I just made this recipe which I found on “All Recipes” website. I used 3 cups of frozen blueberries instead of the 2 cups fresh called for in the recipe because I like lots of blueberries. Just took it out of the oven and it smells great. It is called Alice’s Easy Blueberry Cake. I could call it Vickie’s Blueberry Cake since I just made it from my home-grown blueberries, but I like “Alice’s” because it reminds me of my Aunt Alice who was probably the best cook in my Daddy’s family and always had some tasty dessert every time we dropped in for a visit.  There was always something yummy in the pie safe.

2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup milk
2 eggs, beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
2 teaspoons flour (reserve)
2 Tablespoons butter, melted (reserve)
2 Tablespoons granulated sugar (reserve)

  1.  Preheat the oven to 375°. Grease & flour a 9×13 baking dish.
  2.  Mix dry together in bowl.  Add wet ingredients and mix.
  3. Toss blueberries with about 2 teaspoons of flour in a separate bowl.  Fold into batter.  Pour batter into prepared baking dish.
  4. Bake at 375° for 25 to 30 minutes (until cake is lightly brown).  Brush melted butter on top of the cake, then sprinkle with sugar.  Continue baking for another 5 to 10 minutes until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

 

Here is the original recipe:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/223015/alices-easy-blueberry-cake/?internalSource=search%20result&referringContentType=search%20results

2 thoughts on “Alice’s Easy Blueberry Cake

Leave a Reply

