Home

I planted a straw bale garden and I have been thinking of it as my salad garden.  Unfortunately, the timing of the various plants is a little off.  I have been getting lettuce for about 3 weeks, but the tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and carrots are just now starting to  catch up.  I have picked my first tomato, several cherry tomatoes and a couple of cucumbers.

I had a delicious salad at Spin Pizza recently called a 8 Color Salad.  I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand to duplicate it, so I improvised.  Even my husband (who only grudgingly eats salads) said it was a good salad.

Here are the ingredients I used, but use whatever you have on hand.  The key is to use a variety of colors and flavors.

fresh lettuce

1 cucumber

1 medium tomato

1/2 orange bell pepper

4 oz sliced ham diced

1/4 cup chopped almonds

1/4 cup bacon bits

1/4 cup grated sharp cheddar

dressing of your choice (I used strawberry balsamic vinaigrette)

Fresh veggies from the garden
 

 

Leave a Reply

