Home

IMG_0339Today was cold and snowy and I felt like baking something.  I used the last gallon of blackberries I had in the freezer to make a Blackberry Cobbler / Crisp.  I didn’t really use a recipe–just dumped in the berries, added 1/2 cup of Splenda, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup of flour and sprinkled some cinnamon on top.

For the topping, I used about 2 tablespoons of butter, 1 cup of brown sugar, a teaspoon of cinnamon and 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal.  I softened the butter for 5 seconds in the microwave, then mixed the topping ingredients together until crumbly.   Then I spread the topping over the berry mixture and baked at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

 

 

This was a little juicy, but warm and delicious. It probably needed to cook a little longer or needed some additional flour to absorb the juices.  My daughter uses tapioca in her recipe, but I didn’t have any on hand. When I reheat the leftovers, I will probably add some additional oatmeal/topping to help absorb the juice.

Leave a Reply

