Home

I was talking to my son the other day and he said the kind of recipes he was interested in were those that regular people make every day. Everybody has their standbys that they can put together for a quick evening meal–not fancy, just basic food. My daughter also said that she puts recipes on her blog so that she can always find them easily. With that in mind, I thought I would put up some of my favorite recipes (none of which are fancy fare).

First up will be Mac and cheese. I would love to be able to eat this every day, but because of all the cheese, pasta and butter, it is a “once in a while” food. I generally make it for holidays. When I made it for Christmas dinner this year, I tweaked the recipe I have been using slightly and it turned out very well, so I need to write down the modified recipe before I forget what I changed.

Baked Macaroni & Cheese
2/3 of a 1 lb package of macaroni twist noodles
4 Tbs butter
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
4 cups grated cheddar cheese
1/2 tsp black pepper

Cook macaroni as per the package directions. When done, drain in colander. While macaroni is still hot, put it in a large (3 quart) casserole dish. Mix in the butter to melt. Beat the egg slightly, then mix the milk and black pepper with the beaten egg. Pour the mixture over the macaroni. Add the grated cheese and mix. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes.

This is so good, you might want to make an extra dish for leftovers (I usually do).

Here is the ingredient list if you want to scale the recipe up so you have leftovers.
1 lb package of macaroni twist noodles
7 Tbs butter
1 cup milk
2 eggs
7 cups grated cheddar cheese
1 tsp black pepper
(For the larger recipe, split it between 2 casserole dishes. I usually use a large one and a small one.)

20140109-210608.jpg

Leave a Reply

